FUNKEN Academy for artistic research

In the FUNKEN Academy, artists, technological institutes and research facilities come together to experiment in the field between arts and technology.

 

 

Discursive Design Class | IF / THEN ARTIFICIAL NATURES

Can a shape-memory polymer function as an artificial larynx and be applied in sound-creation? Can programmable materials lend character to everyday objects? What if a household gadget running low on battery would communicate this by slumping in exhaustion? Which structures and characteristics derived from nature can be used in the development of new materials? And which philosophical questions arise in the process of creating artificial forms of nature? 

In cooperation with the  Fraunhofer Cluster of Excellence Programmable Materials artists and designers are invited to investigate the novel programmable materials in a course by Prof. Dr. Johanna Schmeer.  Through the cooperation with the institute, the participants gain access to new materials, which are not yet available on the market. 

Following a Kick-Off event in Chemnitz and Dresden from 04th of October till 06th of October 2021 are followed by regular consultations (remote).  The final works will be presented on 24th of January 2022. 

Pilot project LABOR 2025

 

In March 2021, Labor 2025 was realized as a pilot project of FUNKEN Academy. In three workshops, developed by artists in collaboration with the partner institutes Fraunhofer IWU, Fraunhofer ENAS and Sächsisches Textilforschungsinstitut students and post-graduates worked on prototyping ideas in the areas of AR, Smart Materials and textile design, presenting the results in an exhibition at Ars Electronica Center Linz
 

Labor 2025 was funded by the Kulturhauptstadtbüro Chemnitz 2025 and realized as a pilot project in the context of the EU-funded project als Pilot Projekt im Rahmen des InduCCI in cooperation with Kreatives Sachsen. 

Workshop "Faserland" | Prototype for alternative application of non-woven fabric
Workshop "Faserland" | Prototype for alternative application of non-woven fabric

press to zoom
Workshop "Labor der Sinne" | AR Object
Workshop "Labor der Sinne" | AR Object

press to zoom
Workshop "Offline Gallery" | Video link to dust-free room at Fraunhofer ENAS
Workshop "Offline Gallery" | Video link to dust-free room at Fraunhofer ENAS

press to zoom
Workshop "Faserland" | Prototype for alternative application of non-woven fabric
Workshop "Faserland" | Prototype for alternative application of non-woven fabric

press to zoom
1/3

Photo credit: Fabian Thüroff

Video credit: Fabian Thüroff

FUNKEN Akademie für künstlerische Forschung

In der Funken Akademie kommen Künstler:innen mit Hochtechnologieinstituten und Forschungseinrichtungen zusammen, um im Spannungsfeld zwischen Kunst und Technologie zu experimentieren.

Discursive Design Class | IF / THEN ARTIFICIAL NATURES

Kann ein Formgedächtnispolymer wie eine künstlicher Kehlkopf funktionieren und in der Erzeugung von Sounds genutzt werden? Könnten programmierbare Materialien Alltagsgegenständen einen “Charakter” verleihen? Was wäre, wenn ein Haushaltsgerät seinen niedrigen Akkustand durch erschöpftes Zusammensacken kommuniziert? Welche Strukturen und Eigenschaften aus der Natur könnten für die Entwicklung neuer Materialien herangezogen werden? Und welche philosophischen Fragestellungen entstehen durch das Schaffen künstlicher Formen von “Natur”? 

In Kooperation mit dem Fraunhofer Cluster of Excellence Programmierbare Materialien und unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Johanna Schmeer sind Studierende und Graduierte künstlerischer Studiengänge dazu eingeladen, sich mit Programmierbaren Materialien im Rahmen dieser Fragestellungen auseinanderzusetzen. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut erhalten die Teilnehmer:innen Zugang zu neuartigen Materialien, die noch nicht auf dem Markt erhältlich sind.

Nach einer Einführungsveranstaltung in Chemnitz und Dresden vom 04.10. bis 06.10.21 schließen sich regelmäßige Konsultationen (remote) an.  Die Arbeiten werden 24.01.2022 abschließend präsentiert.

Pilotprojekt LABOR 2025

Im März 2021 wurde das Labor 2025 als Pilotprojekt der FUNKEN Akademie realisiert. In drei Workshops, entwickelt von Künstler:innen in Kollaboration mit den Partnerinstituten Fraunhofer IWU, Fraunhofer ENAS und dem Sächsischen Textilforschungsinstitut, arbeiteten Studierende und Post-Graduates an der Prototypisierung von Ideen in den Bereichen AR, Smart Materials und Textildesign mit anschließender Ausstellung der Resultate im Ars Electronica Center Linz.

Das Labor 2025 wurde seitens des Kulturhauptstadtbüro Chemnitz 2025 gefördert und umgesetzt als Pilot Projekt im Rahmen des EU-geförderten Projekts InduCCI in Kooperation mit Kreatives Sachsen. 

Workshop "Faserland" | Prototyp für alternative Vliesstoffnutzung
Workshop "Faserland" | Prototyp für alternative Vliesstoffnutzung

press to zoom
Workshop "Labor der Sinne" | AR Objekt
Workshop "Labor der Sinne" | AR Objekt

press to zoom
Workshop "Offline Gallery" | Videoschalte in den Reinraum des Fraunhofer ENAS
Workshop "Offline Gallery" | Videoschalte in den Reinraum des Fraunhofer ENAS

press to zoom
Workshop "Faserland" | Prototyp für alternative Vliesstoffnutzung
Workshop "Faserland" | Prototyp für alternative Vliesstoffnutzung

press to zoom
1/3

Fotocredit: Fabian Thüroff

Videocredit: Fabian Thüroff